Autumn Dance

I love Autumn.  It’s mysterious, earthy, and profoundly feminine.  It’s the time of the harvest and the hunt, overseen by the ancient goddesses Demeter and Artemis.  John Keats called it the “season of mists and mellow fruitfulness.”  

Welcome, rich fecundity.  Welcome, mists and the thinning veil.  Welcome, circle of life.

 I will dance
The dance of dying days
And sleeping life.

I will dance
In cold, dead leaves
A bending, whirling human flame.

I will dance
As the Horned God rides
Across the skies.

I will dance
To the music of His hounds
Running, baying in chorus.

I will dance
With the ghosts of those
Gone before.

I will dance
Between the sleep of life
And the dream of death.

I will dance
On Samhain’s dusky eye,
I will dance.

–  Karen Bergquist, An Autumn Chant

Photos from hike on Crowders Mountain, October 8, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

