Time for Incubation

Some of you might know what work in the IT side of an organization is like.  As a major release comes due, everyone works 24-7.  No hours are off limits or sacred when there’s a major defect on the board.   You just work, eat too much and sleep very little. Energy just pours out, and nothing much but junk food goes back in. After several weeks of this, I was tired – very, very tired.  On my first free Saturday in a while, I had a personal task list as long as my arm.  But I didn’t do any of those things on my list.  I felt PULLED to go somewhere outside with my camera – to switch the dial to “receive” and re-fill the well.

In The Artist’s Way at Work, authors Mark Bryan and Julia Cameron talk about the need to take artistic time outs.  “…We must consciously restore and replenish. Think of yourself as an ecosystem, perhaps a trout run.  If you overfish your stream, you need to restock it. If you put images and energy out, you need to put images and energy back in.  This is not goofing off, it is tuning in to your own creative needs.”

So I goofed off and refilled my well.  And it was just a little slice of heaven.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Time for Incubation

  1. Two years ago, while taking some writing courses, I learned about watercolor journaling from another participant. Drawing is a skill I didn’t think I had – we all draw as children but somewhere along the way (usually before we are out of elementary school) we are told our drawings “aren’t good enough”. In “The Creative License”, Danny Gregory urges the reader to “give yourself permission to be the artist you truly are”.

    I started journaling by drawing and sometimes adding watercolors. It forced me to slow down (hard for me to do) to really look at the details of whatever I was drawing. I started drawing around the house, on vacation, and after my father’s death, allowed me to mourn him and celebrate his life.

    I still love photography – it allows me to stop life in motion and enjoy the moment – the expression on a grandchild’s face, the moment in a sunset, the wave before it crashes.

    Photography, drawing, watercolors, writing stories – new ways of creativity as I age which provide pleasure, slow me down to be in the moment, and restore my soul.

Leave a Reply

